2024 Ontario Provincial Championships

Burlington, April 5th-7th, 2024 –  With almost 80 registrants competing in over 17 different divisions, the 2024 Ontario Provincials was an amazing weekend of racquetball. Competitor ages ranged from 8 to almost 80, providing a wide array of action across various genders and age groups.

With almost 160 matches played, it was a certainly a weekend to be remembered for all those who competed and cheered on friends and family. 

“This is the most women we have had register for a single event in a long time” said Vice President Luke Coughey.  “Great competition and comradery was shared throughout all divisions.”

Trevor Webb, of Cambridge, came out on top of the Open Division winning the Co-ed Singles Open championship title defeating a worthy opponent Asher Pocsai, of New Hamburg. 

Asher medaled twice this weekend. Besides taking second in Singles Open division, he teamed with brother Christian Pocsai to dominate the Open Doubles division, taking home  the title over Michael Capobianco (Burlington) and Michael Rojas (Brampton) in the finale.

In the Women’s Singles Open division, for those who were lucky enough to watch, was an amazing match up between Brittany Nelson (Windsor) and Disney Linares (Toronto), with Disney taking the title of Champion.  

What ended up being the final match of the event was a hard-fought battle in Co-ed A Singles between Terry Nelson (Windsor) and Julio Torija (Kitchener).  Julio claimed victory in an exciting 5th game tie breaker. Julio was a double winner this weekend, also taking home an A Division doubles title with his partner Scott Haacke (Marmora).

Another double winner this weekend was Talia King (Burlington) who took home 1st place in Female Singes B Division and Junior Advanced Division (U14):

Thank you to all the participants for your passion for the game, the respect you show for your fellow competitors, volunteers, and the support and encouragement you give to the newcomers to the game.  

Recorded matches can be found on Racquetball Ontario’s Facebook page.

Looking ahead, upcoming major events for our members is the National Championships being held in May.

Click here for complete draws and results and see below for a recap of winners:

Open Division (Singles):

  • Champion: Trevor Webb
  • Runner Up:  Asher Pocsai
  • Consolation Winner: Michael Capobianco

Open Division (Female, Singles):

  • Champion: Disney Linares
  • Runner Up:  Brittany Marrocchio

Open Division (Doubles):

  • Champion: Asher Pocsai/Christian Pocsai
  • Runner Up:  Michael Rojas/Michael Capobianco
  • Consolation Winner: Luke Coughey/Matt Forstner

A Division (Singles):

  • Champion: Julio Torres Torija
  • Runner Up:  Terry Nelson
  • Consolation Winner: Bryon Haacke

A Division (Doubles):

  • Champion: Scott Haacke/Julio Torres Torija
  • Runner Up:  Bryon Haacke/Christopher Jette
  • Consolation Winner: Paul Bateman/Joe Idone

B Division (Singles):

  • Champion: Todd Bright
  • Runner Up:  Scott Ledingham
  • Consolation Winner: Joe King

B Division (Female, Singles):

  • Champion: Talia King
  • Runner Up:  Julia Verrall

B Division (Doubles):

  • Champion: Dave Lampron/Scott Ledingham
  • Runner Up:  Gagandeep Singh/Rajnish Behal
  • Consolation Winner: Mark Bristo/Peter White

B Division (Female, Doubles):

  • Champion: Kavana Manjunath/Eva Pocsai
  • Runner Up:  Christine Amsden/Nadja Coughey

C Division (Singles):

  • Champion: Lucas Villegas
  • Runner Up:  Felix Pothen-Bonnet
  • Consolation Winner: Asher Wiseman

C Division (Female, Singles):

  • Champion: Iwona Budzinska
  • Runner Up:  Kavana Manjunath

C Division (Doubles):

  • Champion: Van Raad/Marc Raad
  • Runner Up:  Felix Pothen-Bonnet/Benjamin Wallis

60+ Division (Singles):

  • Champion: Dave Massey
  • Runner Up:  Brian Mach
  • Consolation Winner: Bill Digregorio

Mixed Doubles:

  • Champion: Sami Harb/Alyson Renaldo
  • Runner Up:  Kyle Wiseman/Eden Wiseman
  • Consolation Winner: Lucas Villegas/Hosanna Coughey

Junior Advanced Division (U14):

  • Champion: Talia King
  • Runner Up:  Asher Wiseman
  • Consolation Winner: Drew Morrow

Junior Intermediate Division (U14):

  • Champion: Alistair Lyle
  • Runner Up:  Halen Pocsai
  • Consolation Winner: Carter Kolbuc

Junior Double Bounce Division (U14):

  • Champion: Carter Kolbuc
  • Runner Up:  Xander Raad
  • Consolation Winner: Samuel Wallis