SHERWOOD PARK, AB (February 11, 2024) – Quebec’s Samuel Murray and Frédérique Lambert are the winners in the men’s and women’s open singles divisions at the National Team Selection Event that is being held in Sherwood Park, Alberta from February 9 to 11, 2024. Murray (Baie-Comeau) and Lambert (Montréal) are the top ranked male and female athletes in Canada and the defending national champions in both singles and doubles.

In the men’s open singles division Murray faced Kurtis Cullen of Brandon, MB, winning 11-4, 10-12, 11-4, 11-3. Lambert played Juliette Parent of Saint-Jacques, QC in the women’s open final winning, 11-5. 11-7, 11-7.

Christine Keay of New Westminster, BC won bronze after defeating Danielle Ramsay of Saskatoon, SK with scores of 10-12, 11-7, 11-9, 11-6. Nathan Jauvin (Terrebonne, QC) defeated Conrad Cole (Hamilton, ON) in the men’s open bronze medal match with scores of 4-11, 11-7, 11-5, 11-4.

Jauvin and Cole shook up the field on Friday in the Men’s Open quarterfinals. Cole who was seeded 12th, knocked out the 4th seed Lee Connell (Saskatoon, SK). Jauvin, who was seeded 7th also caused an upset, defeating the 3rd seed Trevor Webb (London, ON).

The results of the tournament will be used towards the selection of the team that will represent Canada at the upcoming Pan American Championships being held in Guatemala City, Guatemala in March. Results will also count towards selection to the 2024 World Championships team.

Final Placement

Men’s Open Singles

1.   Samuel Murray (Baie-Comeau, QC)

2.   Kurtis Cullen (Brandon, MB)

3.   Nathan Jauvin (Terrebonne, QC)

4.   Conrad Cole (Hamilton, ON)

5.   Trevor Webb (London, ON)

6.   Lee Connell (Saskatoon, SK)

7.   Jeff Buller (Grande Prairie, AB)

8.   Leyton Gouldie (Brandon, MB)

9.   Christian Pocsai (New Hamburg, ON)

10. Ian Frattinger (Martensville, SK)

11. Tanner Mattson (Burnaby, BC)

12. Michael Leduc (Baie-Comeau, QC)

13. Devin Halko (Edmonton, AB)

14. Noah McEwen (Sherwood Park, AB)

15. Steven Dyck (Edmonton, AB)

16. Tanner Prentice (Macrorie, SK)

Women’s Open Singles

1.   Frédérique Lambert (Montréal, QC)

2.   Juliette Parent (Saint-Jacques, QC)

3.   Christine Keay (New Westminster, BC)

4.   Danielle Ramsay (Saskatoon, SK)

5.   Marjolaine Parent (Saint-Jacques, QC)

6.   Michèle Morissette (Baie-Comeau, QC)

7.   Cassie Prentice (Delisle, SK)

8.   Alexis Iwaasa (Edmonton, AB)

9.   Chloé Jauvin (Terrebonne, QC)

10. Ofelia Wilscam (Repentigny, QC)

Draws and results: