Lambert & Murray Finish First at National Team Selection Event

Winnipeg, November 28, 2018 – Samuel Murray of Baie-Comeau and Frédérique Lambert of Montréal have finished on top of the podium at Racquetball Canada’s National Team Selection Event held this weekend in Valleyfield, QC. Thirty-one of Canada’s top athletes competed in the tournament held at Kitchener YMCA from February 2 to 4.

Samuel Murray defeated Coby Iwaasa of Lethbridge in Sunday’s final in three games with scores of  9-15, 15-6, 11-6. Murray won both selection events and the Men’s Open Singles title at the Canadian Championships last season. Murray is ranked sixth on the International Racquetball Tour (IRT) and is 2nd in Canada in rankings.

Tim Landeryou of Calgary finished in third place but did not play his bronze medal match after Pedro Castro of Brossard withdrew before the semifinals.

Frédérique Lambert of Montréal finished on top of the podium in the Women’s Open event with a win over Winnipeg’s Jennifer Saunders. Lambert won in two games with scores of 15-8, 15-3.

Danielle Drury, of Saskatoon finished her tournament in third place after defeating Winnipeg’s Christine Richardson 16-14, 6-15, 12-10. This is the highest finish Drury has had at a national elite event.

Results from the National Team Selection Event will be used to determine teams for international competition in 2019 including the Pan Am Championships and Canada’s team for the 2019 Pan Am Games.

Link to: Tournaments Draws and Results

Men’s Open Singles Results 

Gold Medal Match

(1) Samuel Murray (Baie-Comeau, QC) defeated (2) Coby Iwaasa (Lethbridge, AB), 9-15, 15-6, 11-6

Bronze Medal Match

(3) Tim Landeryou (Calgary, AB) defeated (4) Pedro Castro (Brossard, QC), forfeit

Semi Finals

(1) Samuel Murray defeated (4) Castro, forfeit;

(2) Coby Iwaasa defeated (3) Tim Landeryou, 15-8, 15-13

Quarter Finals

(1) Samuel Murray defeated (9) Trevor Webb (Cambridge, ON), 15-1, 15-13

(2) Coby Iwaasa defeated (7) Lee Connell (Saskatoon, SK), 15-9, 15-7

(3) Tim Landeryou defeated (6) James Landeryou (Saskatoon, SK), 15-8, 15-10

(4) Castro defeated (5) Nicolas Bousquet (Montréal, QC), 17-15, 16-14

Round of 16

(1) Samuel Murray , bye

(2) Coby Iwaasa, bye

(3) Tim Landeryou defeated (14) Etienne Chayer (Valleyfield, QC), 15-2, 15-7

(4) Castro defeated (13) Sean Sauvé (L’Assomption, QC), 15-1, 15-3

(5) Bosquet defeated (12) Ian Frattinger (Martensville, SK), 15-4, 15-13

(6) James Landeryou defeated (11) Michael Leduc (Québec, QC), 15-6, 15-6

(7) Connell defeated (10) Tanner Prentice (Macrorie, SK), 15-9, 15-11

(9) Webb defeated (8) Tommy Murray (St-Hubert, QC), 15-3, 15-0

Women’s Open Singles Results 

Gold Medal Match

(1) Frédérique Lambert (Montréal, QC) defeated (2) Jennifer Saunders (Winnipeg, MB), 15-1, 15-2

Bronze Medal Match

(5) Danielle Drury (Saskatoon, SK) defeated (3) Christine Richardson (Winnipeg, MB), 16-14, 5-16, 12-10


(1) Lambert defeated (5) Drury, 15-8, 15-10

(2) Saunders defeated (3) Richardson, 15-10, 15-13


(1) Lambert defeated (9) Cassie Prentice (Macrorie, SK), 15-1, 15-2

(2) Saunders defeated (7) Erin Geeraert (Calgary, AB), 15-7, 15-4

(3) Richardson defeated (6) Michèle Morissette (Baie-Comeau, QC), 15-4, 15-7

(5) Drury defeated (4) Alexis Iwaasa (Sylvan Lake, AB), 15-2, 16-14

Round of 16

(6) Morissette defeated (11) Marjolaine Parent (Saint-Jacques de Montcalm, QC), 15-5, 15-7

(7) Geeraert defeated (10) Juliette Parent (Saint-Jacques de Montcalm, QC), 15-2, 15-3

(9) Cassie Prentice (Macrorie, SK) defeated (8) Valerie Fallu (Candiac, QC), forfeit

All other athletes had a bye to the quarterfinals 

Men’s Open Singles Final Standings 

1. Samuel Murray (Baie-Comeau, QC)

2. Coby Iwaasa (Lethbridge, AB)

3. Tim Landeryou (Calgary, AB)

4. Pedro Castro (Brossard, QC)

5. Trevor Webb (Cambridge, ON)

6. James Landeryou (Saskatoon, SK)

7. Nicolas Bouquet (Montréal, QC)

8. Lee Connell (Saskatoon, SK)

9. Tanner Prentice (Macrorie, SK)

10. Tommy Murray (St-Hubert, QC)

11. Sean Sauvé (L’Assomption, QC)

12. Etienne Chayer (Valleyfield, QC)

13. Ian Frattinger (Martensville, SK)

14. Michael Leduc (Québec, QC)

Women’s Open Singles Final Standings 

1. Frédérique Lambert (Montréal, QC)

2. Jen Saunders (Winnipeg, MB)

3. Danielle Drury (Saskatoon, SK)

4. Christine Richardson (Winnipeg, MB)

5. Michèle Morissette (Baie-Comeau, QC)

6. Alexis Iwaasa (Sylvan Lake, AB)

7. Erin Geeraert (Calgary, AB)

8. Cassie Prentice (Macrorie, SK)

9. Juliette Parent (Saint-Jacques de Montcalm, QC)

10. Valerie Fallu (Candiac, QC)

11. Marjolaine Parent (Saint-Jacques de Montcalm, QC)

Racquetball Canada is the national sport governing body for the sport of Racquetball in Canada. Along with the support of the Government of Canada and many valued partners, Racquetball Canada develops competitive national teams and oversees programs that grow the sport of racquetball in Canada. For more information visit our website.

Media Contact:

Jan Hanson

Director of Communications and Marketing

Racquetball Canada Board of Directors